The REX Honoured At Arbor Awards

the_rex_400x400Owner Bob Ross and manager Tom Tytel of the Rex Hotel and Jazz Bar where among the recipients at the 2016 Arbor Awards, recognizing students, alumni, faculty, staff and community members for their exceptional volunteer work. The large crowd in attendance seemed to perk up at the appearance of a jazz club among the recipients, with the suggestion that they should all troop down there on a Monday night.
Read more »

Juno Nominations

U of T Jazz Faculty and alumni are nominated for Juno Awards this year.
Read more »

Paul Read Wins Toronto Arts Award / Mayor Pledges Support For The Arts

mayor-art-lunch.jpg.size.xxlarge.letterboxAt the recent Mayor’s Arts Awards lunch, U of T Jazz founding director Paul Read was presented with the Muriel Sherrin award for international achievement in music. Kudos and thanks to Mayor Tory for recognizing the vital role of the arts in society, and hearty congratulations to our mentor, Paul!

Click to read a recent Toronto Star article.

(Photo by Sean Howard, Toronto Star)

Paul Tarussov’s Juno!

500-Years-of-Night-web-300x272DMA trombonist Paul Tarussov performed on ’500 Years of Night’, by Quique Escamilla. The album won the 2015 Juno for World Music Album of the Year.

Juno Nominations

UnknownU of T Jazz faculty and alumni are well represented in the 2015 Juno nominations.
Read more »

Toronto Arts Foundation Launches Emerging Jazz Artist Award

taf_logoThe Emerging Jazz Artist Award, a $10,000 cash prize, furthers the career of an outstanding emerging jazz artist and is intended to support the pre-production, production and/or recording of original music composed by the recipient.

Angela Turone Wins JAZZ.FM91 Mary Alice Stuart Award

BB_AT_MMOnstage at the TD Toronto Jazz Festival, U of T Jazz graduate vocalist Angela Turone is presented with the Mary Alice Stuart award by Brad Barker from JAZZ.FM91. Also shown: faculty member Mike Murley.
Read more »

Mike Rud and Sienna Dahlen Win Juno

SiennaCongratulations to Mike Rud and featured vocalist, U of T Jazz faculty Sienna Dahlen, for their Juno win in the Vocal Jazz Album of the Year category.


Nick Lavkulik Wins Composition Award

Nick-Headshot-250x250U of T Jazz Guitarist Nick Lavkulik has been selected as the 2014 Spectrum New Voices Composer. In the next two months Nick will complete a work for piano quintet under the tutelage of U of T Jazz alumnus Dan Jamieson, to premiere at Early Expressions on April 17th, 2014. Lavkulik will workshop the piece hands-on with the Ton Beau String Quartet and NYC-based pianist Florian Hoefner.

Kudos Nick!

Karl Schwonik w/ Hutchinson Andrew Trio

Prairie-Modern-Cover-sm-300x270U of T Jazz alumnus Karl Schwonik continues to amass kudos and awards, this time with the Hutchinson Andrew Trio.
Read more »

Return to Blog